On My Own in Ao Nang

It was time to go our separate ways for awhile. Laura headed north to the Burmese border and I headed south to the Thai islands. We said our goodbyes in Bangkok and I boarded a train with a sleeper berth. It was so nice to actually have a bed during transit. When I awoke, it was only a short bus ride to the coast town of Ao Nang. 

It was the first time ever I have travelled completely alone for more than a day or two. Transit was simple. It’s not to difficult to wave down a sangthaw (open pickup with benches). The next thing I had to do was find a place to stay. The first place I looked at started at $35 and immediately came down to $20 a night. It was a very nice place but I knew I could find somewhere a little less expensive and closer to the beach. The second place was as far as I went. For $10 a night I was steps away from the beach, had air conditioning, hot water, a fridge, and tv with movie channels. I was living in high style. And I think I was the only person staying in the entire hotel. This is why it pays to travel during the region’s low season. Everyone is begging for business and the prices are ridiculously cheap. Yes you might have to put up with a bit of rain but the trade off is so worth it.   

Self portrait, I really was there!

After unpacking and purchasing a beach bag and a sun hat (these items were hard to pack and I knew I would be able to find them cheap), I set out for the beach. It was heaven. There was no one on the sand or in the water. I had the whole place to myself. I’m not talking a short beach but probably a stretch a little over a mile long. The plan was to only stay a night or two and move on, but I decided right then I was staying a bit longer. I found a rock cliff that overlooked the beach and provided a bit of shade and settled in. 

One of many great sunsets

For the next four days, I read a great book, caught up on some writing, swam in the crystal clear turquoise water,watched extraordinary sunsets and napped on the sand. I loved it. The  mornings were spent either sleeping in or going for a sunrise run. At night I would get dinner from the local food stalls for take away and find a place on the beach to eat. There was always some kind of live music coming from one of the restaurants. It was perfect and just what I needed. I know that sounds weird but traveling can be tiring and stressful sometimes (and I do not expect you to feel the least bit sorry for me, I’m just explaining).   

I have determined and have always really known, that despite my extremely fair skin, I am made for beach life. I just require a little extra sun care. It really fits my laid back lifestyle and personality. One day I will reside at the beach. One day….       

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Own in Ao Nang

  1. Rhonda says:

    The pictures are unreal. Would love to go there. Glad you are having a great time:)

  2. Jess says:

    Lauren, I love this post! I’m so glad, and very jealous! haha…..I’m so glad you slowed way down for a couple days and just had time to take in your glorious surroundings. I bet you could just feel God in those sunsets! How beautiful! You look amazing…I miss you as always. Love you

Leave a comment