Poor Vision in Phuket

I hardly saw any of this beautiful and the largest island of Thailand. Why you ask? Because I think it is my mission as a traveler to check out the local eye doctors of every region I visit. I have on a previous trip checked out the eye care in Nairobi, Kenya. Now it’s time to see how they do it Phuket, Thailand.  

For the past few days I had been having a lot of trouble with my eyes. I just thought my contacts were old and needed to be changed. Knowing that I am prone to have eye problems any time I’m out of the states, I had been wearing my glasses to let my eyes rest. Little did I know that my glasses were on their last leg and at the most inopportune moment they chose to die. The ear piece broke off and was unrepairable. This means the contacts had to go back in. Ouch!

Here they are. What do you think?

After having my eyes kill me and a bit of convincing from my parents, I decided it was time to find an eye doctor and get my glasses replaced. I only have two eyes and those are very hard to replace I hear. So I spent pretty much the whole day looking for a doctor and a new pair of glasses. I am so picky when it comes to these sort of things. But I found a very nice, knowledgeable guy who did a full eye exam and fitted me for new glasses. It’s a very good thing I did because come to find out, I had two ulcers on my eye and the contacts were only making them worse. My glasses were ready after about an hour and I was relieved I was going to be able to see again. 

So after visiting one of the most beautiful tropical islands in Thailand, the only places I saw were the eye exam room and the glasses showroom and all I have to show is a beautiful new pair of glasses.      

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poor Vision in Phuket

  1. Heather says:

    IT’S SO MY FAULT! GOSH I AM THE WORST EYE DR FRIEND EVER!!

    • LaurenShack says:

      No worries. It’s something about me and leaving the country. My eyes are great until I leave the states then they get mad oor something and rebel. You will get to have a long look at them when I get home. Miss you girl!,,,

  2. Rhonda says:

    I am glad that you can see again. Can’t wait to hear all about the trip. The pictures are unreal. I will just live my trips through you.

Leave a comment